Custom Content general tips?

Ryno917

Hey guys, I'm looking to make a few items for the game for my own playthrough (I'll share them, as well!) but I have a few questions on some of the general things. I'll be using Blender for the 3D and the plugin to render the sprites. While I'm relatively new to Blender (year or so playing with it for various things) I've done a lot of video game modding in some form or another over the last ~20 years and I'm an industrial designer by trade so I'm not coming at this from scratch.

- What scale/units should I be using? In general the proportions of the game are a little cartoony; how tall should a light pole be?
- The plugin's general guide says models should be centered on the origin; does this apply to path objects (benches, litter bins, lights, etc) as well, or should they be modeled off to the side (and how much), or is this all handles by setting an offset in the object builder?
- How do you set up a light to actually be a light in game (using the hardware based night time lighting in OpenRCT2)? Is it possible to specify light colour?
- How do you set up something as a litter bin? Bench?
- I tried a quick, simple render with the plugin and I get an empty .PNG. I never render with Blender so I have no idea where to start looking for the problem; any tips?
- How do you set up your own 'scenery group?'

I'm sure I'll have many more questions as I get deeper into things, but I'll start here for now :) Eventually I'd like to make a few shops/stalls and the odd train; baby steps, first, though!

Edited by Ryno917
12 minutes ago, Ryno917 said:

- The plugin's general guide says models should be centered on the origin; does this apply to path objects (benches, litter bins, lights, etc) as well, or should they be modeled off to the side (and how much), or is this all handles by setting an offset in the object builder?