continuous disconnections or unable to connect

Hello. I own an old version of roller coaster tycoon 2 that i bought at a thrift store. It is from 2002 and was distributed by infogrames. I see that there are newer versions for sale at atari.com but i do not currently own one nor would i know which one to buy. I wonder, do these newer versions of rct2 have built in networking or multi-player modes and fixed software errors/ issues?

Anyway, I recently started playing open rct2 online by downloading the zip file from openrct2.com but i have been having so many disconnections that it's nearly impossible to play. I keep getting the message "unable to connect" or "connection lost disconnected." it seems like somebody is purposely disconnecting me somehow from a server or computer.  what is going on? what should i do?

ok forget about old copys of rct2 the devs never made multiplayer for this game xD the community did. u need openrct2 which i guess u have. opensource projects update all the time so either download the latest stable build or juust download the newest daily update.  on the server list put your cursor over the little green/red icon at right of every game this tells you what version of openrct2 the host is using. if its green that means you have the same version and can join the server. multiplayer is made open source and isnt finished its buggy and u need to make sure ur pc isnt blocking the connection and forward your ports if you want to host a game. cant really just jump in blind cause it prob wont work well. please do try openrct2 singleplayer though its really good and u even hav a cheat tab if u wanna mess around.

Edited by Benj_xD
forgot to say..

ok thanks benj i will try this. I just don't know why i keep getting disconnected. Maybe it has to do with my internet or firewall??