Audio problems???

Hello there, Im new to OpenRCT2, Im still trying to figure out how to work it, mainly want to use it with RCT Classic but I cant figure that out so Im just using the default parks, But Im having severe audio issues, I can hear all of the music and sound effects, but everything has a staticy/poppy, almost AM radio sound. Any idea what Im doing wrong or how to fix that? Thank you for your time and have a great night :D

• Like 1
  • 2 months later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Good i thought i was the only one. Tried installing and re-installing and still with the static sounds and music. What's weird is when i first install openrct2 and run it the audio works fine. Once i restart my laptop, the static thing happens. WTH MATE.

@ShawnRUGAME@Caldorus@gartor_88 

Hey guys, wanted to share my experience because when I got Classic, I had similar issues. From what I understand, the files/folders in the Classic version of the game have been changed/modified causing compatibility issues with OpenRCT2. I switched to RollerCoaster Tycoon® 2: Triple Thrill Pack and Roller Coaster Tycoon® Deluxe. When I did, I also needed to go and update game path in OpenRCT2's config file otherwise it was always looking for Classic. See my screens this should help explain it some more. Hope this helps.

orct2-update-path.png

unpacked-game-folders.png

ini-location-on-mac.png

Edited by AM7655
made it easier to follow

@gartor_88see maybe it's here C:/Users/yourUserName/OpenRCT2/

I don't know how it works on windows, but look for the similar folder structure. this is where you'll find auto saves and where you add custom content. Are you all set with Triple Thrill Pack and Deluxe versions? Make sure you have the standalone and not part of the Classic. You are basically updating directory to tell OpenRCT2 where to look.